Public Service Awards

Public Service Awards


The Kokomo School of Public and Environmental Affairs Advisory Boardrecently presented four diligent North Central Indiana community leaders with the 200Public Service Awards. The winners were honored during the inaugural SPEA Public Service Award luncheon held on April 27 in the Kelley Student Center.

2006 Public Service Award Winners

These four individuals have made significant contributions to their north central Indiana communities. Recipients are Robert P. Messey of Howard County, Phillip V. Nichols of Tipton County, Judge Julian L. Ridlen of Cass County, and James R. Walker of Miami County. District 23 State Representative William C. Friends delivered the keynote address on public service during the event. SPEA campus Dean Robert Dibie said the award winners all employed the leadership mentality and processes taught in SPEA." By honoring their actions, students – the leaders of this region – and all citizens are encouraged to use their abilities in greater civic engagement." Dibie expressed his thanks to the SPEA Advisory Board members for their help in coordinating the award nominations, scholarship donations, and the luncheon.


The community contributions of five area individuals were recognized during the Public Service Awards Luncheon, Thursday, March 29, sponsored by the Indiana University Kokomo School of Public and Environmental Affairs.
            2008 PSA                               SPEA Advisory Board members chose one honoree each from Cass, Grant, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties. 
• Ruth Ellen Bland, clerk-treasurer of the City of Logansport. Nominated by Skip Kuker and Annette Russell.
• Mark Fauser, executive director of the Community School of the Arts in Marion. Nominated by Mayor Wayne Seybold and Jay Julian.
• Dr. Robert Lee, pastor of Second Missionary Baptist Church in Kokomo. Nominated by Michael Peters.
• Thomas McKaig, Ed.D., superintendent of Peru Community Schools. Nominated by Mayor James Walker.
• Richard Phillipe, executive director of Tipton County Chapter of Habitat for Humanity. Nominated by Mayor George Ogden, Gordon Tocco, and William Keir.
“In addition to providing professional service to their neighbors, each of these award winners is an exceptional local volunteer,” said Assistant Dean of SPEA Robert Dibie. Ph.D. “They are driving forces behind dozens of community projects and organizations. They are, in short, models of the proactive, knowledgeable, and effective public servant that SPEA holds up to students in its public affairs, public management, and criminal justice curricula.”


The Community Contributions of six area individuals were recognized during the third annual SPEA Public Service Awards Luncheon on March 6, 2008. SPEA Advisory Board members chose one honoree each from Cass, Grant, Hamilton, Howard, Miami, and Tipton counties. More than 300 professionsals from north central Indiana attended the event on the IU Kokomo campus.
Public Service Award For Those Honored The service award recipients are:
• Brian Shockney, president and CEO of Logansport Memorial Hospital.
• Nancy Chance, president of the Good Samaritan of Hamilton County.
• James Alender, president and CEO of Howard Regional Health System,
• Terry Kratzer, former director of YMCA and city employee at Marion.
• George Ogden, former mayor of Tipton and former fire chief.
 John (Jack) Hart, former director of Transportation of Westfield and mem
ber of Westfield-Washington Township Advisory Board Planning

Ambassador Aurelia Brazeal was the keynote speaker at the event. Brazeal was the former Ambassador to Kenya from 1993 to 1996, to Ethiopia from 2002 to 2005, and to Micronesia from 1990 to 1993. Brazeal is the first African American woman career foreign service officer to be promoted into the U.S. Senior Foreign Service and to be appointed an Ambassador. She also served as Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for East Asia and the Pacific from 1996 to 1998.

Chancellor with Ambassador
2008 Scholars  


PSA Award 2009


Public Service Awards Luncheon 2010

Public Service Award Recipients 2010

Left to right: Michael Finkler, Dr. Sue Giesecke, Brian Morrill, Michael Harlowe, Darcy Buthay, Stuart Green, Cindy White, Connie Rose, Kurt Wanninger, Skip Kuker, Dr. Robert Dibie.

 Contact the School of Public and Environmental Affairs.