Call Numbers

Library of Congress Classification System (LC)—IU Kokomo Library uses LC to arrange its collection of materials by subject. LC is divided into 21 branches of knowledge represented by letters:

A- General works
B - Philosophy
C - Auxiliary sciences of history
D - History (general)
E-F - History (Americas)
G - Geography
H - Social sciences
J - Political science
K - Law
L - Education

M - Music
N - Visual arts
P - Language and literature
Q - Science
R - Medicine
S - Agriculture
T - Technology
U - Military science
V - Naval science
Z - Bibliography; library science

Each branch is divided into more specific topics represented by combinations of letters and numbers.
back next